Forums

Search  
  Forum Topics  | Recent Topics  | Unanswered Topics

Quick Go »

Topic Status: Active
Total posts in this topic: 14
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Author
Previous Topic This topic has been viewed 6475 times and has 13 replies Next Topic
germaneighter
tulsa, ok
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Stain will not dry

I am a novice woodworker. I recently installed new cherry kitchen cabinets. There is an existing bookshelf that was stained with a dark finish that we wanted to keep but it did not go with the cabinet color. I sanded it downto bare wood. It looks like poplar but again, I'm a novice. Minwax Red Mahogony looked like a very close match. I used a rag to apply the stain. I did not wipe the stain off. (I have looked at other posts with similar problems...) After (8) hours I applied a second coat with a brush. The color was getting close but after (3) days it is still tacky. I have had the fan on it for (3) days and it does not seem to make any difference.

If I wipe it down with mineral spirits I'm affraid it will be much too light. How will I get the dark color I need and get the stain to dry? Can I use heat lamps?

It seems a lot of people have had the same problem with the red mahogany stain.

Thanks,
Dave
[Jun 01, 2005 07:08 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
HowardAcheson
Southport, NC
Stain will not dry

It is a continually wonderment that so many folks have the same problem. They apply the finish without following the directions that the manufacturer spends lots of time testing and developing and then wonder why they run into problems.

That said, oil based stains require wiping. They contain little resin and without wiping, they dry very, very slowly. You will also probably find that applying a topcoat will cause the color to run into the the top color creating a muddly look.